Pipe Down!

Reason #783 why home improvement stores up here should be open 24-hours:

pipe-clog

That is the smelliest of all clogs living in our pipe.  When I took the sink out, I noticed the water coming from that trap smelt awful (I believe the quote was, “Ew, my hands smell like butts.”), so I did the only logical thing: closed that pipe back up and left it alone.  Also, sprayed down the bucket with body spray and thoroughly scrubbed my hands.

Unfortunately, the old pipes don’t line up with the new sink, which means that pipe needs to be shortened.  Or just replaced.  But I now have to wait 2.5 more hours until the store opens so I can pick up more piping.  In the mean time, I’ve got to hunt down some Febreeze or something because even though I closed the pipe back up after snapping a picture, our kitchen is starting to smell like butts.

This entry was posted in DIY, House, Kitchen. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pipe Down!

  1. Wendy says:

    Ick!

    In my experience, Febreeze doesn’t do much for smells that have gotten into plastic (like the bucket). Bleach maybe. Or a new bucket.

    • Rebecca Lynn says:

      Body spray + mouthwash seemed to do the trick- as soon as the icky smelling water started dripping out, I closed things back up pretty quickly so not too much water actually got into the bucket, fortunately!

Leave a Reply

