Happy Pi Day

I love homemade applesauce, but cutting up dozens of apples gets old pretty quickly, so last year, I bought an apple peeler-corer-slicer.  Seriously the best invention ever!  I think the price has gone up a bit since I bought mine, but since I can crank out a whole batch of apples in the time it would have taken me to peel and slice 2 or 3, I think it’s a bargain.

peeler-corer-slicer

If I have a really soft apple, the peeler sometimes has trouble getting the skin off, but most times I’m left with a neat pile of apple peel:

apple-peels

and a nice skinless, sliced and cored apple:

peeled-cored-sliced

I usually quarter each apple after they’re peeled, sliced and cored (there has to be a shorter way to say that…), because they bake down faster.

And no March 14th would be complete without a little pi action…

apple-pie

I didn’t follow any recipe- just peeled/sliced/cored 6 apples, tossed them in a bowl with a small scoop of sugar, a few pinches of flour, a hearty dash of cinnamon, some fresh-ground nutmeg, and a pinch of cloves until well coated and dumped them into a convenient, ready-to-use Pillsbury crust.  It turned out a bit on the watery side, but still tasted amazing!

Happy Pi Day!!!

apple-pi

This entry was posted in Baking, Cooking, Food, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Pi Day

  1. Wendy says:

    I should get me one of those peeler-corer-slicers. My apple cutter just broke. Again.

    I think it’s called a ‘supreme’ when you peel, clean, and separate the slices of a citrus fruit, but I don’t know if the French ever got around to inventing a sister term for apples and pears.

Leave a Reply

