Christmas Cactus, in Bloom!

Last year, my dad gave me a Christmas Cactus.  It started out as a single unit that had broken off the main plant.  I can’t find a good picture of just the original piece, so here it is about a month after I got it:

Isn’t it cute?!  For reference, the main piece is about 3/4″ tall and it is now sporting the first of many “hats” it would sprout (I don’t know what the proper term is for those new segments, but I refer to them affectionately as “hats”).  It’s since grown many more segments, and has a good half dozen branches, but I thought it would still be a few years before it started blooming.  However, when I went to water it about a week and a half ago, I found this:

My Christmas Cactus as a flower!!!  How cool is that!?  I decided to track its growth over the next few days/weeks (I wasn’t sure how quickly it would grow).  Here is it 5 days later:

It didn’t really do too much over the inbetween days, but it finally started to open.  Once is started to open, things progressed rather quickly.  Here it is just a day later:

I like how the cactus and its flower are transilluminated by the sun!  Here’s another angle on the opening flower:

Just a day later, it had opened up even more!

How amazing is that?!  It was just a bud a week ago- now it’s a fully fledged flower!

This is quite possibly one of my favorite pictures to date of all the photos I’ve taken:

It’s definitely going to be blown up and hung in our house!

To round things off, here’s the Christmas Cactus flower, fully opened!  Isn’t it beautiful!?

I’m so glad my cactus bloomed this year!  I found this little pink bump on the end of one of the other branches, so maybe it’ll put out another flower again this year?  I hope so!

P.S.  I’ve started an account at 500px (http://500px.com/Rebecca_Lynn), where I’ve started uploading some of my better shots (including my new favorite picture!).  There you can see my pictures in their original, non-compressed glory and can download or purchase prints, if you would like.

This entry was posted in Flowers, Macro, Plants. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

