I’ve Seen the Light!

I was up early this morning and decided I should stay up and actually be productive, which meant working on the shelves I’m putting up in the garage.  Now, I get up early when I have to go to work, but on my days off, I like to sleep in, which means I usually don’t start working on stuff in the garage until the evening on days I work, and almost never before noon on my days off (what can I say, I like my sleep!).  So I was surprised to see sunlight coming in through the wall I uncovered earlier this week:

I think I found the problem!  There appears to be no flashing whatsoever on this part of the house.  I mean, the J-channels are there to direct water away, but there’s nothing there to stop the creepy-crawlies from getting to the wall once they get under the siding.  Also, there appears to be a redundant J…

Think it would be possible to take off the bottom layer or so of siding, slip some metal sheathing in along the concrete of the porch (leaving it tall enough so it extends, oh, say 6″ above the level of the porch, hidden behind the siding, and a few inches below the concrete footing of the garage) so nothing else tries to destroy the new wall I plan on framing up?  Here’s a sketch again showing the level of the porch in relation to the garage wall:

Right now the plan is: remove the bottom few layers of siding to expose the rotten portion of wall from the outside, brace the ceiling and chop out the offending portion of wall, spray foam into any spaces I find under the porch, slide some metal sheathing down into the gap between the porch and garage, reframe the wall using green plywood (I hate OSB).  Oh, and spray foam into the entrance holes under the porch as well- don’t want any more critters trying to call it home!

This entry was posted in House. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I’ve Seen the Light!

  1. Its Brian again, from all the pictures you have posted all of the 2×4’s appear to be in good condition unless moldy and even if just use a bleach solution to kill it all considering it is on an outside wall in a non-living environment that will not be an issue, so cutting those out would not be required, but removing all old OSB because of its nature to rot and crumble inside out the entire sheets must be removed. This will require removing more than bottom few layers of siding, also use metal “flashing” as a water barrier with starting on the bottom and working up the wall say 3-4′ in total height to prevent and water at all from penetrating the reconstructed structure. and there is only on piece of J Channel there they just slit and folded the siding over as a double precaution which is a good idea. And to attach flashing to concrete use concrete screws with anchors NO silicone or tar so just incase water did get behind the metal it has someway to get out with out making this problem reoccure

    • Rebecca Lynn says:

      I’ll remove all the siding from that wall of the garage if it helps me get to that rotten section, but once I have the area exposed, what’s the best way to get the old OSB out? Especially the part that’s sandwiched between the garage studs and the giant concrete slab of a porch, I mean, won’t the OSB be attached to the studs? Also, what’s the best way to tie the new typar/plywood into the existing walls? I don’t want to create any new problems, especially since the other walls are house walls! The walls above the level of the porch are no problem, but once I get below the level of the porch, what do you think would be the best way to join the old and reconstructed areas? I think in terms of accessibility, it might be easiest to remove the studs, because I want to make sure whatever water barrier I put on the new wall is adequately sealed and there won’t be a lot of working room under/behind the porch.

      The garage wall extends about 3 more feet past the edge of this picture:

      How far out would you recommend I remove the siding to? (I know some of it will depend on where the joints in the siding are, and I don’t know offhand exactly where they are). Also, would you recommend using metal flashing along the entire length of the garage wall? (flashing!!- that’s the word I was going for- metal flashing, not sheathing!). As far as I can tell, the siding along the garage wall just kinda ends at about the level of the concrete.

  2. Oh i forgot to mention you will need some new typar for the new plywood that is the “dupont” material you see “new construction” houses wrapped in before they get sided

  3. Dad says:

    B, if you ever get tired of being a nurse….

    • Rebecca Lynn says:

      Oddly enough, I keep thinking ‘the best way to describe this would be like comparing it to a laparoscopic ventral hernia repair vs an open repair’ but then I’d have to describe that metaphor too…

  4. Rachel says:

    So I don’t know much about exterior repairs, but I do know about contamination and water damage. If you decide to leave the sill plate and studs, let me know and I can tell you how to deal with them and they will be fine. Water doesn’t really affect concrete in a bad way, but if you see mold growing on it let me know. And FYI, it’s a very common misconception that bleach kills mold. It doesn’t… it just takes out the color.

  5. Pingback: It Is Finished! | Life Through the Lens

  6. Pingback: Garage Shelves: Complete!!! | Life Through the Lens

Leave a Reply

