A Secret Back Door

When we first moved into our house, there was a giant overgrown bush blocking the back door to the garage and wrecking havoc on the door itself.  So here it is in all it’s ginormous glory:

If you ducked and shimmied, you could get to the door, but there were spiders and bugs and all sorts of ickyness lurking behind the bush.  So we decided it had to go.  That and I park my bike right by that door and it would be nice to actually be able to get my bike out that way.  Since we had just moved in, we hadn’t acquired many tools yet so I used a telescoping lopper to cut down the branches as far as I could.  This is what I was left with:

(I also trimmed up that little tree, which, after I learned it was a lilac, was chopped down as well- I HATE the smell of lilacs!!!)  Here’s a view from the other side:

Much better!  We were also able to get to that garbage can left by the previous owners and discovered it contains chunks of wood:

It’s actually pretty depleted right now because I’m using some of the larger chunks to rest my garage shelves on while I stain them.  Eventually, they’ll probably become fuel for a bonfire since they are nice and dry and I really don’t like the random garbage can sitting outside our garage.

Anyway… we don’t have a lot of land or anywhere to put all the branches I chopped off, nor do we have a vehicle that can transport them.  At the time, we also lacked a chainsaw or other cutting device to remove the larger trunks of the bush (we have since acquired this Sawzall

Milwaukee Sawzall 6538-21

Image via biedlers.com

I love it!  I’ve already cut down one other giant bush with it and wish we had more to remove- it’s so much fun to use!!!).  Fortunately, I have a friend with a truck, trailer, lots of land and a chainsaw, and he came to finish chopping down the trunks and took away all the branches.  Here’s how it looks today:

Just have to grind out that stump and re-landscape a bit, but I love having full access to my garage again!

This entry was posted in House, Plants. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Secret Back Door

  1. Joanne says:

    Looks great, Becca! Nice job of letting the sun shine on the door again.

Leave a Reply

