Microprinting, part 1

I was watching Psych a little while back when I came across an episode that involved counterfeit $100 bills.  Over the course of the show, they mentioned microprinting, which got me curious.  So I grabbed my macro lens and a $100 bill (yup, I’m one of those weird people who just happened to have a large bill laying around); here’s what I found (I marked each of the areas with an arrow on the bill below):

And a close-up of the arrow areas (click on any of these pictures to make them bigger/easier to see)…

The 100 is full of little ‘USA100’s:

Text on Benjamin’s lapel:

Then I got to wondering about what I could find hidden on other bills, so I grabbed a $50:

Along the edge of the bill are little FIFTYs:

That blank space between the seal and Grant’s portrait contains a star full of ‘USA50’s:

And more text along Grant’s lapel as well:

I also love how the background isn’t a solid color, like it appears at first glace, but is actually a series of geometric red, blue and yellow lines!

I also explored the $20, $10 and $5 bills, which I’ll share a little bit later.  In the meantime, what’s your favorite macro subject?  What sorts of things have you discovered with your camera that you couldn’t see with the naked eye?

This entry was posted in Macro. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Microprinting, part 1

  1. Pingback: Microprinting, part 2 | Life Through the Lens

  2. Pingback: Microprinting, part 3 | Life Through the Lens

  3. Pingback: To Watermark or Not to Watermark… | Life Through the Lens

Leave a Reply

