Car Show

Every Thursday during the summer, the Burger Kings up here hold a Classic Car Show in the evening and local owners can show their cars.  I went a few weeks back and while there wasn’t a great turn out (it was a ridiculously hot day), it was still fun to walk around and look at all the cool old cars.  It reminded me of when I would tag along with my dad to Iola or other car shows as a kid.  My dad can name the year, make and model of pretty much any car he sees, even when I only had a picture of a small detail of the car.  Unfortunately, didn’t write down any of the names, so I’m going by memory.  Feel free to correct me if I’m wrong, but here’s a sample of what I saw at the car show!

I really liked all the hood ornaments, from the classic mustang:

…to this one from a 1964-ish Chrysler Imperial:

I also thought these hood rockets from a ’57 Chevy were pretty cool!

It’s also fun to see how styles have changed over the years.  Something about fins on cars always amuses me, and the aqua paint just screams 50s!

A sweet ride: the 1970 Dodge Challenger R/T!

The back of a ’69 Mustang Mach 1- another fun, fast car!

1975 Pontiac Firebird:

There weren’t a lot of super-old cars, only 2 Model Ts, both of which were surrounded by people so I couldn’t get a clean shot.

This was probably my favorite of the night- I just love the round headlights, the sleek grill, and the cool old logo!  What’s your favorite classic car?  These shows run for another month or so, and I’d love to shoot some more cars!

This entry was posted in Cars. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Car Show

  1. Alvin Sonnenberg says:

    Hi Rebecca, Some nice shots of the Burger King old car shows. Just a note to tell you that the first NEW CAR that Lois & I owned was 1957 Chev–4 door–automatic trans, light blue. To bad I don’t have one now as they bring big bucks at shows.
    As Always,
    Al & Lois Sonnenberg

  2. Becca–if you thought these hood ornaments are cool you should go to the Iola Car Show and see the ones from the 30’s and 40’s. Those are the cool and very unique ones. (Iola Car Show happens every July)

  3. Chris Eckel says:

    Hmm… do I spy a 1971/72 yellow Mach 1 Mustang in the first picture? My dad has the same car but in red :).

Leave a Reply

