Raspberry Crisp

This is my absolute favorite raspberry recipe because it’s super-simple, next to impossible to mess up, and easily adaptable.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups fresh raspberries
  • 1-2 Tablespoons sugar (I like my raspberries on the tart side, so I just sprinkle a bit on.  Start light and test a berry or two until you’re happy!)
  • 1 Tablespoons cornstarch

Topping:

  • 4 Tablespoons butter
  • 3/4 cup uncooked oats
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, lightly packed
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 0-1 teaspoon vanilla (to use if your topping mixture is too dry)

Preheat your oven to 375ºF*.  Place raspberries in a large bowl, sprinkle with cornstarch and sugar.  Toss gently; set aside.

In a separate bowl, combine oats, brown sugar, flour and spices.  Cut in butter until the mixture is nice and crumbly.  Add vanilla if needed (I usually start by trying to cut my butter in with a fork or pastry blender, but give up part way through and use my fingers.  I think it’s much easier, but today between the heat from my hands and the fact that it’s pushing 100º out, the butter melted and left me with one giant topping blob.  It’s much easier to apply the topping if yours is crumbly!)

Spread berry mixture across the bottom of a baking dish (I usually use a 9″ round pie pan, but use whatever size works best for the amount of berries you have, and the ratio of topping to berries that you want.  I like to make a very thin layer of berries because I love the topping!  Just make sure they cover the entire bottom of the dish.).

Sprinkle topping evenly over berries.  Don’t worry if your coverage isn’t perfect- a few gaps here and there are just fine!

Bake for about 30 minutes, or until the topping is browned and the berries are bubbling.  Try to let it cool off a bit before eating.  Or at least blow on it a bit so you don’t burn your tongue on the raspberry goodness!

*Fun fact: I don’t preheat my oven- never have, probably never will.  I just set the temperature when whatever I’m making is ready to go into the oven.  I’ve never had anything not turn out because my oven was not preheated.

This entry was posted in Raspberries, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

